top of page
Search

My Painting Materials.


In this blog post I will show you the materials and tools I use to create my watercolour animal artworks. All views expressed are my own.

Watercolour is one of my favourite mediums to work with. My go-to palette is the Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolour studio set. I've had this set for 9 years and I love it! It comes packed with 45 beautiful colours, which can be easily blended on the mixing areas of the palette when opened. (You can see how messy mine is in the second image below.) You can buy replacement half pan paints which slot back into place in the palette too, which is super convenient!

watercolour set


 

I have gone through quite a few different brands of paintbrushes throughout the years, but the Artmaster brushes keep the pointed tip which is great for details. They also hold a lot of paint.

For extra small detail I use No. 2 Da Vinci Maestro paintbrush and the Winsor & Newton Series 7 brushes. These also come inside a little box so that you can keep them stored away.




It's really important to look after your brushes. I have been using The Master's Brush Cleaner & Preserver. This handy soap helps to clean your brushes and keep them good condition. This cleaner will also work for oils and acrylics as well as watercolours.




 

Moleskine sketchbook

For watercolours, I find that the Moleskin sketchpad is really durable and allows for plenty of layers of watercolour. It's portable and has plenty of pages for creating artwork! I really like the quality of the paper. It is textured, 200gsm cold-pressed paper. There are 30 pages in the book and the paper is identical on both sides so you could get a total of 60 pages if you'd like to take full advantage of the sketchpad! Also, I find having a sketchpad the paper doesn't buckle as much, as you are able to close the sketchpad flat.










 

For my initial sketches, I normally use a Pentel mechanical pencil. The size of the led is super thin and allows me to get crisp lines when mapping out the animals I'm about to paint. You can also buy refills for this pencil, which come in a range of hard and soft leads.

fox drawing
Fox Sketch

watercolour painting of a fox
Fox

baby elephant watercolour painting
Baby Elephant

Thank you for reading my blog post about my painting materials! If you have any suggestions for my next blog post, drop a comment below :) Please feel free to share this post with your friends!










 

I am an affiliate for the products that I recommend from Amazon. If you purchase items through my links I will earn a small commission. You will not pay more when buying a product through my link. By doing this you will help support me to continue creating art and more blog posts.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page