top of page
Search

My Drawing Tools.

Updated: Mar 16, 2023


My tools for drawing.

I have made a post for those of you who are interested in seeing what I use to create my pencil drawings! Here is a diagram of the tools I use for drawing in colour and graphite pencils. Click on the blue underlined text to see where you can purchase the items from Amazon! 1. Drawing board - As I do not have a dedicated desk, I find this very useful for me to use as a solid surface to draw on. It can also be used anywhere, such as the garden on sunny days. 2. Caran D'Ache luminance - I invested in some individual pencils at first. These high quality pencils have a permanent pigment. They are very creamy and are great at overlapping colours - especially the lighter tones. 3. KOH-I-NOOR 6 PROGRESSO - These graphite sticks are very useful when blocking in shade or getting the really dark tones in a pencil drawing. 4. Blending stumps - These can be purchased individually or in packs. I use a range of sizes, to blend small and large areas of pencil drawings. You can get very thin stumps, and very thick ones depending on what you make. These are perfect to help blend the graphite evenly. 5. Caran d'Ache 'Design' Eraser - This works for both colour and graphite! 6. Helix Eraser - You don't need to have an expensive brand to get rid of pencil marks, this cheap eraser does the job! 7. Faber-Castell Trio Pencil Sharpener - It is great for my polychromos and graphite pencils. Although, I find this does not fit the Caran d'Ache luminance pencils because these are thicker pencils.

8. Staedtler 511 Tub Sharpener - I used this sharpener on my polychromos for some time, and a lot of the leads broke because of it. After a little research I found that you need to replace the sharpener/blade when your pencils start going rough or breaking. It still works well for all my graphite ones! 9. Staedtler graphite sharpener - This is a long lasting sharpener which fits Faber-Castell Polychromos, Pablos, Caran d'Ache luminance pencils, and my graphite pencils. The blade has lasted ages! The leads of my pencils do not break or split when I sharpen them with this sharpener. 10. Mechanical Pencils - I recommend these Paper Mate mechanical pencils. They are reliable and have a standard HB lead. Great for outlining portraits etc. 11. Staedtler sketching pencils - These pencils come in a range of soft and hard leads. 12. Pencil Extender - These pencil extenders are really useful for when your pencils are running out and get really tiny. You can save money by getting these, because you are able to get more out of the pencils before they completely run out! 13. Tombow Mono 100 - This is a fantastic tool as you can get into the smallest areas for highlighting. I use this on fur highlights and eye glimmers. 14. Uni-ball Signo UM-153 Broad Rollerball Pen -A very handy pen which can pick up the white highlights or lines in drawings. 15. Faber-Castell Polychromos Colour Pencils, Tin Of 120 - A very good investment. You are able to get all kinds of colour shades in this tin. They are high quality, durable pencils which will blend smoothly and create a nice finish. These are one of my favourite pencils! 16. Faber-Castell 9000 - A good range of pencils (2H - 8B) for creating high contrast in your work. I highly recommend this product. The leads don't break and they sharpen well! 17. Faber-Castell Polychromos Colour Pencils Tin Of 24 - This set contains 24 colours which I got before my larger set listed above. 18. 40cm/16inch metal ruler - This ruler allows me to mark out the paper size I need for commissions/personal drawings. **UPDATE** Additional Tools: Natural Daylight Lamp.- Great for working in the evenings when the sun's gone down. I highly recommend this lamp, it gives you a wonderful light to work with. Caran d'Ache Pablo pencils. - They are quite pricey, but really worth the money! They work very well with the polychromos. I love their vivid range of colours and they offer different tones to the polychromos.

KUM Sharpener. - The best sharpener I have used to date! Reasonably priced, this automatic long point sharpener has proven to work SO well with my polys, luminance and pablos. Make sure you buy one!!

KUM automatic long point sharpener

Caran d'Arch Luminance 6901 76 set Beautiful range of creamy colours, perfect for top coats and blending layers together!!

Caran d'Arch 76 Luminance 6901 set

Thank you for reading my blog post! :) If you found this useful please share it with your friends! If you want me to cover any particular topics please leave a comment below, or ask me anything on my Facebook or Instagram.


 

I am an affiliate for the products that I recommend from Amazon. If you purchase items through my links I will earn a small commission. You will not pay more when buying a product through my link. Plus, when you order through my link, it helps me to continue creating these blog posts and advice! Thank you in advance for your support!

1,385 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page